Saturday, July 25, 2020

2020 Interview: M.K. Anthony

Hello.  My name is M.K. Anthony.  I live in rural northwest Pennsylvania with my husband, our young daughter and our crazy coonhound puppy.  Being just a family of three, you’d think it’d be peaceful and quiet but it’s the exact opposite.  For example:  I’m trying to answer these questions and my husband decides to walk in strumming his guitar.  In turn, my daughter screams in excitement and begins dancing around the room.  My life is chaotic but I love it!  Currently I’m an Assistant Manager for our local Ace Hardware store. 

Do you have any hobbies?

Puzzles!  Now if only I can find the time to do one.

What is your favorite vacation spot?

My family and I enjoy camping along the banks of the Allegheny River.  We try to visit at least once a year. It’s always peaceful and I can normally get some long overdue reading done.

If you were given a ticket to anywhere and spending money to indulge, where would you go?

Scotland, definitely!  It’s been a lifelong dream of mine, to explore the Highlands.

Do you have pets?

Yes, I have a guinea pig named, Peppa and a redbone coonhound named, Taco.  (Both names were picked by my daughter.)  Plus, several chickens and guinea fowl.

What is your favorite color and what do you love about it?

Purple, especially when it’s accompanied with teal.  

What was your favorite book as a child?

I didn’t really get into reading until I was a teenager.  I loved anything by V.C. Andrews.

What is one thing about yourself you’d like to change or are trying to work on?

Procrastination, for sure!  I need to stop putting things off.

What music genre/singer/band is your go-to for a bad day? For working? 

I love Celtic music and it’s my go-to when writing.  The fiddles and flutes always sweep me off to faraway lands.

Do you re-read books? If so, is there one in particular?

I’m not one to re-read books, but I have Shana Abe’s Drakon series.

Are you an introvert, extravert, or ambivert?

I’d have to say, ambivert.  I was painfully shy as a child but by some miracle, I broke out of my shell.  Working in customer service for the last 20+ years has definitely helped me.

Does pineapple go on pizza?

No, that’s not for me!

How many places have you lived?
I was born in New Jersey and lived there for almost thirteen years, before my parents moved us to Union City, Pennsylvania.  It was hard in the beginning but I’m so thankful that we moved to this small town. 

What was your first job?

My first job was as a dog bather for my mom’s dog grooming and boarding kennel business.  I helped with the family business for over ten years before taking an Innkeeper job for a Bed & Breakfast.

What is your favorite down time activity?

That would have to be going for a motorcycle ride with my husband and friends.  We don’t get to do that very often.

Are you an outdoor type? Have a green thumb?

I love the outdoors!  We have a humongous vegetable garden this year and this will be our third year canning.  It’s very gratifying to grow and preserve our own food.

If you could live inside a movie, which would you choose and which character would you be?

I had a hard time with this question for some reason.  I told my four year old and her response was, “You can be Poppy from Trolls!”

Are you the type to take a dare?

No, not really. 

What is one thing you’ve learned through experience that you’d love to pass along to others?

Dreams can come true!  Never give up on them!

What books, other than your own, would you highly recommend?

Some of my favorites are the Outlander series by Diana Gabaldon, the Green Rider series by Kristen Britain and the Kitty Norville series by Carrie Vaughn.  As you can tell, I’m a huge fan of series.

On to writing: what inspired you to start creating stories/non-fiction? How long ago?

I began writing stories around fifteen years ago.  Just something I did for fun.  Years later, I woke up from an intense dream and thought that would make an interesting story.  I instantly starting writing and before I knew it, I created this whole world and characters that I completely fell in love with.

Can you tell us a bit about your path to publication?

After several rejection letters and many doubting moments, I stumbled across a local publishing company.  It’s been a bumpy road but I finally have my story in book form.  I’m currently getting my second book ready for publication.

Finally, please tell us about your books and add your website so we can find you:

Legends of Breena: Guardians of the Queen – A dramatic fantasy novel about a royal guard who discovers her soul mate and her destiny.  The book is available in e-book, hardcover and paperback.



No comments:

Post a Comment

Comments are moderated. Spam will not be posted.